I own and carry a gun, particularly when I am going out of town on long trips.
Acquiring a Gun Permit
Although many people may find that owning a pistol only creates and adds to the current crime in the country, I find that they are a means for self-protection.
I personally, have and carry a gun with me, especially on out-of-town trips with my family. With the current rise in home invasions and crime, I want to be able to protect myself and my family in case something were to happen.
Below you will find all the information that you need in regards to acquiring a pistol permit in Georgia.
Applying for a Gun Permit
In order to obtain a Georgia Firearms License, you must be a resident of Georgia or on active duty on a base in Georgia. Georgia Code 16-11-129
In order to obtain a Gun Permit, you must be able to answer 'No' to the following questions:
- Have you been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment exceeding 1 year?
- Are you a fugitive from justice?
- Are you an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance
- Have you been adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to a mental institution?
- Have you been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces?
- Are you the subject to a court order that restrains you from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner or child of such partner?
- Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence?
You must also answer 'Yes' to the following question:
- Are you a legal citizen of the United States?
You will not get a gun license if you fall under one of the following categories:
- Under 21 years of age.
- A fugitive from justice or against whom proceedings are pending for any felony, forcible misdemeanor, or violation of Code Section 16-11-126, 16-11-127, or 16-11-128 until such time as the proceedings are adjudicated.
- Committed a felony.
- Committed a forcible misdemeanor and has not been free of all restraints and supervision for 5 years from the date of application.
- Convicted in violation of Code Section 16-11-126, 16-11-127, or 16-11-128 and has not been free of all restraints and supervision for 3 years from the date of application.
- Have been hospitalized as an inpatient in any mental hospital or alcohol or drug treatment center within 5 years of the date of his or her application. (The Probate Judge may consider the reason for the hospitalization and decide whether to issue a permit or not.)
- Have been convicted (plead guilty and found guilty by a court of competent jurisdiction) of an offense arising out of the unlawful manufacture, distribution, possession, or use of a controlled substance or other dangerous drug.
- Not lawfully present in the United States.
Once, you have answered all the questions and have been approved in that sense, you will have to have your fingerprints taken.
Next, the paperwork will be sent off, and you wait for your permit to arrive at the Probate Court for you to pick up.
How Much Will the license Cost?
Depending on what county, or district, you fall under, a Firearm License can cost you anywhere from $39 to $47. In Muscogee County, you pay $26 to the GBI and $20 to the Probate Court. You may be charged a fingerprint fee, as well. To verify the costs, you will want to call ahead of time.
Where Do I Go to Apply for a License?
You will want to apply for you gun license in the County Probate Court in your district.
What Do I Need to Bring When Applying for My License?
You will want to verify all documents with the Probate Court in your district. In general, you will need to bring a Photo ID and Proof of Residence, which are usually covered by your Georgia driver's license. Some districts may also require a copy of your Birth Certificate or U.S. Passport, in addition to your Georgia Driver's License.
How Long Does It Take Before I Receive My Permit?
On average, it can take up to 90 days before you receive your pistol permit. You will be informed of the wait time by the Probate Court in your district when you apply for the license as to the actual wait time in your county.
How Long Is the License Good for?
A Firearms License in the state of Georgia is good for 5 years no matter where you might move to.
This content reflects the personal opinions of the author. It is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and should not be substituted for impartial fact or advice in legal, political, or personal matters.
© 2008 mlowell
Tyson on February 03, 2014:
Don't buy guns unless emergency
Tyson on February 03, 2014:
GREG BEVEL on March 25, 2013:
I WANT FILL OUT FORM FOA FIREARM LICENCES.THANKS
GREG BEVEL on March 25, 2013:
NEED TO SIGN UP FOR GUN PERMIT,HOW DO I DO THANKS?
gre bevel on March 25, 2013:
CAN I GET a PERMIT IF I Had a felony,aroud 1983! does the permit goaway.i was charged with drivivg &drinfing.I QUIT DRINKING FROM 6 MONTHS I SERVED INGAINESVILL GA.I HAVE BEEN SOBER SINCE THEN.THAT WAS A BIG WAKE UP CALL FORM.THANK YOU GREG BEVEL.IM 61 NOW,HAVE A GREAT FAMILY THAI WANT TO TAKE CARE OF.SO MUCH DANGER NOW IN LIFE..
budone1967 on December 10, 2012:
There is a drastic need to update the info here. Much of this changed in June 2010.
Rod C on November 17, 2012:
I'm 24 and i want to know can i get my permit if i have a misdemeanor an i got that 4 years ago
matt on June 28, 2012:
If I have a misdemeanor charge of marijuana that comes up and I pleated no contest to it will that effect me getn a ccw
Packin_N_GA on June 05, 2012:
Some of these responses are just plain stupid and I'm sure that's because they have a record the length of a roll of toilet paper and have no chance of carrying legally anywhere. Go thug ... that's all I can tell you. Just don't get caught with it....
jackie on April 09, 2012:
WELL LET ME HIGHLIGHT YOU ALL, IF YOU HAVE ANYTHING ON UR BACKGROUND FORGET IT...GA IS LIKE THE OLD DAYS....THEY DO NOT LIK TO ADAPT TO THE NEW LAWS....SO IF YOU HAVE SOMETHING ON YOUR LICENSE OR BACKGROUND...GET A BAT, OR CALL JERRY SPRINGER AND FIGHT IT OUT.....MEANS YOU DO NOT NEED IT,,,,,SORRY PPL....LET GOD FIGHT YOUR BATTLE...
marcos on February 12, 2012:
i have my only one dui in 2007 cant i still get my gun permit in ga
brian on February 01, 2012:
I recently purchased my carrying license am I allowed to carry until my license are mailed to me since there is no reason I would be denied
summit on November 12, 2011:
nice info for someone that wants to shoot themselves. 90 days is too long to wait.
elaine on July 27, 2011:
I am retired law enforcement from Virginia. In that state, I had a right to carry a concealed weapon for life. Now that I live in Georgia, will that still be honored? Do I need to go through the process as a regular citizen here?
Denise on July 25, 2011:
Thanks for the informative site. I was able to find out exactly what I needed to know.
John on June 18, 2011:
Answering most of the questions here:
Virginia ALLOWS Georgia licenses, many states do.
You must not have been in a mental wing for 5 years at least.
Best place to buy guns varies on your county.
Billie on June 02, 2011:
I admitted myself to a mental wing of a hospital 12 years ago. I had a braking and entering, 4 fires were lite, thus
the sprinkles went off, to finish what was left. The next day they returned to take the rest of my things. Will I be able to obtain a gun permit?
Andre on May 14, 2011:
I was convicted 10 years ago in the state of Florida. Now I'm living in Georgia, & I'm a register voter. So do that mean, I can carry a concealed weapon?
joseph thomas on May 03, 2011:
I have no convictions as an adult my last conviction i was 15 yrs old now im 32 yrs old can i get a Gun permit in the state of Ga,???
Marty on February 13, 2011:
I was convicted of a felony when I was 18, then had it cleared from my record after I served my sentence! I'm now 54 and have been in no more trouble. My crime did not envolve a weapon or violence. Do I have to list this when I apply?
jeremy goforth on February 11, 2011:
hey im jerey goforth and im trying to jet my license to carry a gun
Tina Golden on November 16, 2010:
I was recently a victim of a home invasion and assaulted. I feel if I had a weapon I would've been able to protect my family better. I was once some1 that believed in none violence like Dr. King but now I'm all about mine and my family's protection!!! And I have a right to bear arms!!!!
Emile L. on November 06, 2010:
I have permits for n.y. state penn,and utah do I still have to be a resident of georgia and how long before I can get a permit there.
Terrell on October 27, 2010:
I have had 3 DUI's. Does that effect me from obtaining a gun permit?
Ronnie on October 13, 2010:
Are there any states that you can use your ga permit to carry a firearm in
Jackie on September 07, 2010:
I just applied for a renewal of my concealed weapons permit that I've had about 40 years. At the Probate court after three pages of forms I paid $30.00 cash, then I had to get a money order from Bank of America fee $5.00 to Cogent Systems-GAPS for $52.90. Total so far = $87.90. Then I had to drive 61 miles round trip to the closesr GAPS fingerprinting sight! I figure including mileage $118.40!
Maryanne Maguire from Santa Monica, CA on July 21, 2010:
Concealed Weapons Association, I think that's the place, will have info for you, antionio
antonio on July 13, 2010:
how do i get a license to carry on person?
Brandon on July 08, 2010:
I have a family violence act on my record will this hurt my chances
David Sherman on March 28, 2010:
I was arrested and convicted of possesion of marijuana five years ago, this was a first offender offense, State law says that after you serve probation the record is cleared, do I have to claim this offense on my gun permit application and am I still eligible for a permit to carry ? This was for possesion of less than one ounce.
ian on January 14, 2010:
i have applied for my licence and its been over 90 days and i haven't received it nor any contact letter saying if it was denied ? where can i go on line or number to find out the status of my application.
Shane on December 29, 2009:
I am a vet that had been diagnosed with PTSD. Will that hurt my chances of the right to protect myself?
ROBERT on December 27, 2009:
CAN YOUR PERMIT BE USE IN THE NOTHERN STATES IF NOT WHY
calvin foster on December 19, 2009:
I purchased my firearms license in the state of georgia which expires in 2014. I recently relocated to Virginia Beach, Virginia and is my georgia firearms license valid in the state of virginia?
Ernest A on July 24, 2009:
Where is the best place to buy a gun in ga
T.W.L on August 28, 2008:
It seems to me, based on this information here, that you are denied a gun permit if the court MANDATES that you be committed to a rehab facility...but are you denied a permit if you voluntarily went to a rehab facility for LAWFUL use of a prescription drug? I have no legal issues and never have, but decided to come off of a medicince I was being issued for three years and had become physiologically dependent on. Will I be denied a permit?