Skip to main content

Lawrence L Beale

Biographical Sketch

Lawrence L. Beale a retired pastor (pastor emeritus) of Mount Zion Baptist Church in Bluefield, West Virginia, and retired Director of Counseling and Testing at Bluefield State College in Bluefield, West Virginia.

Some of his achievements include the following:

·Graduated from Virginia University Lynchburg (VUL) with the degrees: Bachelor of Arts, Master of Divinity, and Doctor of Ministry; and from Marshall University School of Graduate Studies in Huntington, West Virginia, with a Master of Arts in Counseling and Student Personnel. He also studied at Norfolk State University, University of Virginia, VPI and State University, and Trinity Theological Seminary.

·Served as pastor of six churches in two states in almost a half century.

·Presently serves as adjunct professor (with the rank of associate professor) at Virginia University of Lynchburg—Suffolk location.

·Self published the following books:

1.Toward a Black Homiletic, 1979

2.Reclaiming the Family, 1999

3.Effective Preaching in the Postmodern World: An interdisciplinary, Interdenominational, Interracial Approach to Preparation and Delivery of Sermons, 2008

4.An Incredible Journey: The Story of My Life from Franklin D. Roosevelt to Barack Obama, 2010

5.A Comprehensive History of Mount Zion Baptist Church” A History of a people—1896 to 1990.

Other positions held:

·Vice President for Student Affairs at Virginia University of Lynchburg (2003-2005)

·Direction of Hill Top Baptist Seminary Extension, an extension of Southern Baptist Seminaries

·Instructor for the National Baptist Congress of Christian Education and editor of its newsletter

·Director of public relations for the church planning commission of the National Baptist Convention, U.S.A, Inc.

·Correspondent for the Bluefield Daily Telegraph, the city’s newspaper

Listed in the following publications:

1.The 1983 edition of Who’s Who in West Virginia

2.The 1985 edition of Who’s Who Among Human Services Professions

3.1984 edition of Personalities of America for contributions to religion and community

4.1986 edition of Men of Achievement

5.1993 edition of Marquis Who’s Who in Religion

6.2003 edition of Strathmore’s Who’s Who

For more information, visit